Almost Smart  

Go Back   Almost Smart > The Lounge > Tech Talk

Tech Talk Discussion related to technology, computers, and the internet.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-11-2009   #1
Drogdar
The one and only.
 
Drogdar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Age: 32
Posts: 2,626
Rep Power: 42
Drogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond repute
My Computer Breakthrough

All my friends said it couldn't be done; said it would just burn up. They never believed it was possible.

Well I showed them! Finally managed to get my Dual-core up from 3.4ghz to 4 ghz!!!










Raised my benchmark by almost 2,000 points.

Next I'm going to Overclock my graphic cards ^_^
__________________


Quote:
Originally Said by foxy View Post
...@ @...
...( _ )...
(\( ... )/)
m mm m

OBEY HYPNOTOAD
Quote:
Originally Said by YouKnowWhoYouAre
Ah well, she knows she's a bitch.
Drogdar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009   #2
hai Jay
Time for breakfast!!!
 
hai Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 9,098
Rep Power: 111
hai Jay has a reputation beyond reputehai Jay has a reputation beyond reputehai Jay has a reputation beyond reputehai Jay has a reputation beyond reputehai Jay has a reputation beyond reputehai Jay has a reputation beyond reputehai Jay has a reputation beyond reputehai Jay has a reputation beyond reputehai Jay has a reputation beyond reputehai Jay has a reputation beyond reputehai Jay has a reputation beyond repute
Re: My Computer Breakthrough

schwoooooooooooaaaaaaaaaash!!!!!!!!
__________________
Dare to dream.
hai Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009   #3
Orgoth
Mod In Training
 
Orgoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Age: 32
Posts: 2,729
Rep Power: 37
Orgoth is an Almost Smart godOrgoth is an Almost Smart godOrgoth is an Almost Smart godOrgoth is an Almost Smart godOrgoth is an Almost Smart godOrgoth is an Almost Smart godOrgoth is an Almost Smart godOrgoth is an Almost Smart godOrgoth is an Almost Smart godOrgoth is an Almost Smart godOrgoth is an Almost Smart god
Send a message via AIM to Orgoth
Re: My Computer Breakthrough

Quote:
Originally Said by __Jasmine__ View Post
schwoooooooooooaaaaaaaaaash!!!!!!!!
Translates to: "I have no idea what you're talking about Drogdar"
Orgoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009   #4
David-
Double Plus Good
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Age: 37
Posts: 1,229
Rep Power: 50
David- has a reputation beyond reputeDavid- has a reputation beyond reputeDavid- has a reputation beyond reputeDavid- has a reputation beyond reputeDavid- has a reputation beyond reputeDavid- has a reputation beyond reputeDavid- has a reputation beyond reputeDavid- has a reputation beyond reputeDavid- has a reputation beyond reputeDavid- has a reputation beyond reputeDavid- has a reputation beyond repute
Re: My Computer Breakthrough

You can overclock your gfx card all you want, you'll never get DX10 with that poxy Windows XP! You don't even have a RATING for your e-peen.. ! What's all that about??!
David- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2009   #5
CrunchBite
explosions are half all the fun
 
CrunchBite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Age: 33
Posts: 389
Rep Power: 31
CrunchBite is divineCrunchBite is divineCrunchBite is divineCrunchBite is divineCrunchBite is divineCrunchBite is divineCrunchBite is divineCrunchBite is divine
Re: My Computer Breakthrough

What Kind of cooling do you use for that. Last I heard Pentium D's aren't exactly known for running cool. Congrats tho.
I currently have a Core 2 Duo clocked up to 3.8ghz from 3.16ghz; though I need to get it back to the ~4.2ghz after dropping in the second graphics card.
CrunchBite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2009   #6
Drogdar
The one and only.
 
Drogdar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Age: 32
Posts: 2,626
Rep Power: 42
Drogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond repute
Re: My Computer Breakthrough

its at 4.4ghz now...


and I have my two 9800 gt cards overclocked as well.... super awesome.

Overclocked or not it sill maxes out at 65c every time... I think its because of its older architecture... its almost four years old O_o

I have a thermaltake cooler.. v1 ax I believe is the name. (air cooled)
__________________


Quote:
Originally Said by foxy View Post
...@ @...
...( _ )...
(\( ... )/)
m mm m

OBEY HYPNOTOAD
Quote:
Originally Said by YouKnowWhoYouAre
Ah well, she knows she's a bitch.
Drogdar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2009   #7
Drogdar
The one and only.
 
Drogdar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Age: 32
Posts: 2,626
Rep Power: 42
Drogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond repute
Re: My Computer Breakthrough

Quote:
Originally Said by David- View Post
You can overclock your gfx card all you want, you'll never get DX10 with that poxy Windows XP! You don't even have a RATING for your e-peen.. ! What's all that about??!

YOU'LL never get Dx10 on XP.







EDIT This thread needs a 56k warning.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Said by foxy View Post
...@ @...
...( _ )...
(\( ... )/)
m mm m

OBEY HYPNOTOAD
Quote:
Originally Said by YouKnowWhoYouAre
Ah well, she knows she's a bitch.

Last edited by Drogdar; 04-30-2009 at 07:32 PM.
Drogdar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009   #8
ablethevoice
Vintage Human
 
ablethevoice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Age: 63
Posts: 4,131
Rep Power: 90
ablethevoice has a reputation beyond reputeablethevoice has a reputation beyond reputeablethevoice has a reputation beyond reputeablethevoice has a reputation beyond reputeablethevoice has a reputation beyond reputeablethevoice has a reputation beyond reputeablethevoice has a reputation beyond reputeablethevoice has a reputation beyond reputeablethevoice has a reputation beyond reputeablethevoice has a reputation beyond reputeablethevoice has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to ablethevoice Send a message via Yahoo to ablethevoice
Re: My Computer Breakthrough

Quote:
Originally Said by Drogdar View Post



EDIT This thread needs a 56k warning.
No shit... or a 38.8K warning
__________________
"There Is No Religion Higher Than Truth." - Motto of the Theosophical Society

"Reality is merely an illusion, albeit a very persistent one." Albert Einstein

"The difference between genius and stupidity is genius has its limits." —Albert Einstein

“It's fortunate for governments that people don't think." - Adolph Hitler

Sturkis akidit ("shit happens") - Latin


Bent Ears Audio Laboratories - Better Music Through Chemistry

MUSIC IS LIKE CANDY. IT'S ONLY GOOD WHEN YOU GET RID OF ALL THE RAPPERS.
))#####D~~~~ (_l_)
ablethevoice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009   #9
Bamcubz
WIFE - MOM - ME
 
Bamcubz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Age: 60
Posts: 2,124
Rep Power: 54
Bamcubz has a reputation beyond reputeBamcubz has a reputation beyond reputeBamcubz has a reputation beyond reputeBamcubz has a reputation beyond reputeBamcubz has a reputation beyond reputeBamcubz has a reputation beyond reputeBamcubz has a reputation beyond reputeBamcubz has a reputation beyond reputeBamcubz has a reputation beyond reputeBamcubz has a reputation beyond reputeBamcubz has a reputation beyond repute
Re: My Computer Breakthrough

Our outside tech Louis had to take my computer away, moved my files to another one temporarily but was unable to transfer my Lowe's certificate. After about 4 emails back and forth to them I was able to get the codes to reset it. Oh well - back to work, 2 in the afternoon, you know I was already looking forward to going home and starting the weekend.
__________________


At the beach, life passes differently. Time does not pass by the hours but by the moments and moods.
Bamcubz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009   #10
David-
Double Plus Good
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Age: 37
Posts: 1,229
Rep Power: 50
David- has a reputation beyond reputeDavid- has a reputation beyond reputeDavid- has a reputation beyond reputeDavid- has a reputation beyond reputeDavid- has a reputation beyond reputeDavid- has a reputation beyond reputeDavid- has a reputation beyond reputeDavid- has a reputation beyond reputeDavid- has a reputation beyond reputeDavid- has a reputation beyond reputeDavid- has a reputation beyond repute
Re: My Computer Breakthrough

Isn't the XP hack of DX10 missing some things though? It's not the same right?

Also, whats your power bill like?! Do you use much electric with this?
David- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2009   #11
Drogdar
The one and only.
 
Drogdar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Age: 32
Posts: 2,626
Rep Power: 42
Drogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond repute
Re: My Computer Breakthrough

(this is super late but.....)

After I dropped in a third vid card I had to set all my sh*t back to factory speeds because my comp would die when I started a game (well... actually only fallout 3 and crysis). I need to upgrade my PS but im low on cash. but im hoping to get a quad core and a ps at the same time.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Said by foxy View Post
...@ @...
...( _ )...
(\( ... )/)
m mm m

OBEY HYPNOTOAD
Quote:
Originally Said by YouKnowWhoYouAre
Ah well, she knows she's a bitch.
Drogdar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2009   #12
CrunchBite
explosions are half all the fun
 
CrunchBite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Age: 33
Posts: 389
Rep Power: 31
CrunchBite is divineCrunchBite is divineCrunchBite is divineCrunchBite is divineCrunchBite is divineCrunchBite is divineCrunchBite is divineCrunchBite is divine
Re: My Computer Breakthrough

Yay quad cores. I'm guessing your still rocking the socket 775? I've got the crossfire setup now on my rig plus I finally got a soundcard. Xonar D2X, party in my ears.
CrunchBite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009   #13
Drogdar
The one and only.
 
Drogdar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Age: 32
Posts: 2,626
Rep Power: 42
Drogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond repute
Re: My Computer Breakthrough

My mobo, despite being on a battery backup unit, has been hit by lightning. It came in through the cable line and took out my lan port(s). I have a lifetime warrenty tho so its all cool. I built a computer out of spare parts and stuck it in a sony case I had lying around (and I have to say, it looks pretty nice now that I've gotten the front to light up right).

But the tech hinted at the fact that they don't make my motherboard anymore and the replacement would be an upgrade... so that opens up my options for quad cores that I could buy, and I would have three pcie x16 2.0 instead of the 1.0 slots. And I had just bought a new psu and hadn't put it in... so when I get my board back I guess im gonna finally go quad! ^_^
__________________


Quote:
Originally Said by foxy View Post
...@ @...
...( _ )...
(\( ... )/)
m mm m

OBEY HYPNOTOAD
Quote:
Originally Said by YouKnowWhoYouAre
Ah well, she knows she's a bitch.
Drogdar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009   #14
EmperorChaos
Ruin you like this website.
 
EmperorChaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Age: 41
Posts: 11,726
Rep Power: 151
EmperorChaos has a reputation beyond reputeEmperorChaos has a reputation beyond reputeEmperorChaos has a reputation beyond reputeEmperorChaos has a reputation beyond reputeEmperorChaos has a reputation beyond reputeEmperorChaos has a reputation beyond reputeEmperorChaos has a reputation beyond reputeEmperorChaos has a reputation beyond reputeEmperorChaos has a reputation beyond reputeEmperorChaos has a reputation beyond reputeEmperorChaos has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via ICQ to EmperorChaos Send a message via AIM to EmperorChaos Send a message via MSN to EmperorChaos Send a message via Yahoo to EmperorChaos
Re: My Computer Breakthrough

you guys are nerds.
__________________
The first thing that came into being, void and without form, a lifeless lump, unfashioned and unframed, the Prima Materia from which all comes, influenced by forms and given structure by matter it becomes all that is, with increase in entropy it is into which all shall fall, endlessly and in all directions, a self-reflexive paradox.
-=-=-=-
"Self-education is, I firmly believe, the only kind of education there is." -Isaac Asimov
EmperorChaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009   #15
Thoughtcrime
I grew up to be black.
 
Thoughtcrime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Age: 32
Posts: 7,252
Rep Power: 102
Thoughtcrime has a reputation beyond reputeThoughtcrime has a reputation beyond reputeThoughtcrime has a reputation beyond reputeThoughtcrime has a reputation beyond reputeThoughtcrime has a reputation beyond reputeThoughtcrime has a reputation beyond reputeThoughtcrime has a reputation beyond reputeThoughtcrime has a reputation beyond reputeThoughtcrime has a reputation beyond reputeThoughtcrime has a reputation beyond reputeThoughtcrime has a reputation beyond repute
Re: My Computer Breakthrough

I have my quad core running at 2.42 ghz right now.

I need a heatsink
__________________
Thoughtcrime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009   #16
CrunchBite
explosions are half all the fun
 
CrunchBite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Age: 33
Posts: 389
Rep Power: 31
CrunchBite is divineCrunchBite is divineCrunchBite is divineCrunchBite is divineCrunchBite is divineCrunchBite is divineCrunchBite is divineCrunchBite is divine
Re: My Computer Breakthrough

My dual core is running at 4.02GHz.

/And my e-pene towers above all.
CrunchBite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2009   #17
Liquid
Well Known Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Age: 35
Posts: 277
Rep Power: 37
Liquid has a spectacular aura aboutLiquid has a spectacular aura aboutLiquid has a spectacular aura about
Re: My Computer Breakthrough

4ghz? That's a fast clock speed, are you over clocking? What are you using to benchmark it?
The strongest machine that I've recently set up was running dual quadcore phenoms (8 cores @ 2.3 ghz), 16gb ram,10 tb of disk space, dual 900watt power supplies (hot spares) each running on a dedicated ups, and an integrated graphics card to play snake in zsh or to watch daemons yell at me. It sounded like a broken vacuum cleaner though.
Liquid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2009   #18
CrunchBite
explosions are half all the fun
 
CrunchBite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Age: 33
Posts: 389
Rep Power: 31
CrunchBite is divineCrunchBite is divineCrunchBite is divineCrunchBite is divineCrunchBite is divineCrunchBite is divineCrunchBite is divineCrunchBite is divine
Re: My Computer Breakthrough

Check out the reviews on E8xxx Core 2 Duos and you'll see that 4GHz is pretty peanuts even on air. My bench is generally prime 95 overnight, though only on cool nights or else my room gets too hot.
CrunchBite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2009   #19
Thoughtcrime
I grew up to be black.
 
Thoughtcrime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Age: 32
Posts: 7,252
Rep Power: 102
Thoughtcrime has a reputation beyond reputeThoughtcrime has a reputation beyond reputeThoughtcrime has a reputation beyond reputeThoughtcrime has a reputation beyond reputeThoughtcrime has a reputation beyond reputeThoughtcrime has a reputation beyond reputeThoughtcrime has a reputation beyond reputeThoughtcrime has a reputation beyond reputeThoughtcrime has a reputation beyond reputeThoughtcrime has a reputation beyond reputeThoughtcrime has a reputation beyond repute
Re: My Computer Breakthrough

Alright, so I've tried to find the answer everywhere, but I'm still a little confused.

I've been increasing the frequency on my FSB (it's set by default to 200), and I've gotten the clock speed on my CPU to 288mhz with it still running cool. The problem here is obviously as I increase my FSB frequency, it increases my RAM frequency as well. I set the ratio to 1:1 but to OC my cpu any, it pushes my RAM frequency up, and I'm wondering if this is a bad thing. Will it just cause it to run hotter?

Right now my system is as follows (it's at factory default right now)

Phenom Quad Core @2.4ghz
MSI K9A2 Platinum
3GB DDR2 (idk the timing, but its frequency is 400mhz by default)
__________________

Last edited by MudPuppet; 10-24-2009 at 11:01 PM.
Thoughtcrime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009   #20
Drogdar
The one and only.
 
Drogdar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Age: 32
Posts: 2,626
Rep Power: 42
Drogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond reputeDrogdar has a reputation beyond repute
Re: My Computer Breakthrough

If the ram can take it (which it probably can run 600 mhz or 800 mhz easy) then there is no problem. But to answer you question, yes... it will make the ram run hotter. (but you really want the ram to run at the same fsb as the cpu if you can any ways)

My dual core is at 4.4 ghz... I think my e-peen is bigger O_o

(just got a quad-core tho so ima have to play with it)

-edit

I just built a sever for a business and I went with an AMD socket 3 athlon II x4 (quad-core that is) and I put DDR3 in it that is factory at 1800 mhz!!!! super awesome. I OC'ED the cpu to 2.8 ghz (could have gone more but 1) they don't really need it and 2) too lazy to play with it more)) and the temp never got above 52C with OCCT. so there was ALOT more room for oc with that chip (btw that was with a stock fan... tho the case I used has great air on the cpu).
__________________


Quote:
Originally Said by foxy View Post
...@ @...
...( _ )...
(\( ... )/)
m mm m

OBEY HYPNOTOAD
Quote:
Originally Said by YouKnowWhoYouAre
Ah well, she knows she's a bitch.
Drogdar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
computer giggles Bamcubz Jokes & Comedy 13 04-17-2007 03:01 PM
"Who's On First" For The Computer Age ablethevoice Jokes & Comedy 3 05-15-2006 09:32 AM
Internet Security-Real Life Stories ablethevoice Tech Talk 0 03-06-2006 10:47 PM
50 Ways to Mess With People in a Computer Lab Thoughtcrime Jokes & Comedy 1 11-12-2004 04:23 PM
the shit that happened to my computer Aitrus The Blog 6 07-24-2003 08:25 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2000 - 2006, Almost Smart