Almost Smart  

Go Back   Almost Smart > The Lounge > The Blog

The Blog Post the crazy happenings in your life here. If it's interesting enough it may be moved to the main news page.

Old 10-31-2013   #1
Sir Kent
Sir Kunty

Sir Kent has a reputation beyond reputeSir Kent has a reputation beyond reputeSir Kent has a reputation beyond reputeSir Kent has a reputation beyond reputeSir Kent has a reputation beyond reputeSir Kent has a reputation beyond reputeSir Kent has a reputation beyond reputeSir Kent has a reputation beyond reputeSir Kent has a reputation beyond reputeSir Kent has a reputation beyond reputeSir Kent has a reputation beyond repute
Grammar

I'm an English major. I'm just an undergrad student, but I've been studying English for the last four years. So I at least have some authority when I say that so-called "grammar nazis" are full of shit.

Anyone who says that bad spelling annoys them, or gets frustrated when someone misuses "literally" or "ironic," probably doesn't understand enough about language to know why none of that matters.

Language only has meaning because the majority of people in a community understand it. So if the majority of people understand you when you say "literally," but you mean the exact opposite of what "literally" traditionally means (i.e. "I literally could eat a whole horse"), then there is nothing wrong with it.

The established rules of English don't go back all that far, and if you have ever read Chaucer or Beowulf you know how flexible language is. Here are a couple of lines from Chaucer:

"To thee clepe I, thou goddesse of torment, / Thou cruel Furie, sorwing ever in peyne;"

That's Middle English. Here are some lines from Beowulf:

"HwŠt! We Gardena in geardagum, / ■eodcyninga, ■rym gefrunon, / hu ­a Š■elingas ellen fremedon."

That's Old English. Most people call Shakespeare "Old English," but he's actually writing in modern English.